Stand-in captain Aiden Markram bowls first against unchanged West Indies

Throw South Africa picked to bowl vs West Indies

Aiden Markram, South Africa’s brand-new T20I captain, obtained a very early intro to white-ball captaincy and also needed to stand in for hurt ODI captain Temba Bavuma, that had a hamstring niggle. Bavuma really felt pain throughout his century in Saturday’s suit, and also has actually been omitted as a preventative measure with South Africa still to play 2 essential ODIs this period – the Globe Mug Super Organization matches versus Netherlands on March 31 and also April 2.

South Africa made 4 adjustments to the XI that shed to West Indies at the weekend break. Markram, that was relaxed for that suit, came in for Bavuma which left South Africa all alter leading. Ryan Rickelton and also Tony de Zorzi were carded to open up, with Quinton de Kock omitted. Markram was down at No. 3, with Reeza Hendricks not available after reducing his best forefinger.

Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, that was back from the PSL, and also Wayne Parnell changed Tristan Stubbs, Tabraiz Shamsi and also de Kock. On a completely dry surface area, South Africa chose simply one rewriter in Bjorn Fortuin. Sisanda Magala was likewise out after splitting the webbing in his right-hand man.

West Indies maintained the very same group that defeated South Africa, and also mored than happy with the choice to establish the hosts a target once again.

A rather huge group is anticipated in the college community of Potchefstroom, with today being a public vacation in South Africa: it is the Civils Rights’ Day, which honors the 69 targets of the Sharpeville Carnage, eliminated by Discrimination cops in 1960.

South Africa: 1 Ryan Rickelton, 2 Tony de Zorzi, 3 Aiden Markram (capt), 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 Heinrich Klaasen (wk), 6 David Miller, 7 Marco Jansen, 8 Wayne Parnell, 9 Bjorn Fortuin 10 Gerald Coetzee, 11 Lungi Ngidi

West Indies: 1 Kyle Mayers, 2 Brandon King, 3 Shamarh Brooks, 4 Shai Hope (capt, wk), 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Jason Owner, 8 Odean Smith, 9 Yannick Cariah, 10 Akeal Hosein, 11 Alzarri Joseph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *